Jurmala: A Sunset Experience in Latvia

Mahatma Gandhi once said, “When I admire the wonders of a sunset or the beauty of the moon, my soul expands in the worship of the creator.”

As a nature-enthusiast, I want to think that nature sends cherished messages in inimitable ways. At times, I feel like we humans, just have to be more open with our senses and see, and feel what nature is providing us. Surprisingly, life becomes more meaningful when we spend more time with nature, like what sunset can teach us.

_0

Do you love waiting for and watching the sunset by the beach? I do. I especially like it when the sun touches the horizon, and for a fleeting moment, it disappears giving a more beautiful glow. Makes you realize how beautiful these moments are. They are beyond priceless, and all we need to do is to be patient and pay attention to its beauty.

A sunset experience goes beyond the sense of sight. That modest feeling of being in the presence of something grand and ostentatious is very inspiring. It makes you realize how wonderful it is to live and to love. It also reminds me of how small my space is. It such a lovely reminder that challenges in life isn’t really big after all.

_5

Moreover, a sunset is my constant reminder that there is something good in goodbyes. It motivates me to move on. Obviously, once it has drifted, the day is gone and it’s not coming back. Just like some things in life like love, opportunities, and even bad experiences. It tells us that we aren’t going to have another chance to live the day over again. And so, why waste your time and energy.

_3

My most memorable sunset experience during my Europe trip happened in the Baltic. Jūrmala is a seaside city in Latvia that is approximately 25 kilometers west of Riga, Latvia’s capital. The resort city is sandwiched by the Gulf of Riga and the Lielupe River. Once a favorite holiday and summer destination from among local and foreign tourists, Jurmala has a long stretch of off-white-sand beaches.

Today, Jūrmala still attracts a number of vacationers. The sunset by the Riga Gulf and the wooden houses in the Art Nouveau style are some splendid reasons to visit this coastal paradise. The shallow waters are pretty much suitable for children. The beach is ideal for long walks, biking, and even camping as it has a very wide beachfront. Also, the beach I have tried at the Melluzi area are equipped with playgrounds and some benches. Aside from Melluzi, other notables beach regions are Majori, Bulduri, Dubulti, Dzintari, and Pumpuri. I have learned that sports activities like beach football, volleyball, windsurfing, and kitesurfing are popular in these areas.

_9

It was a short stay in Jurmala but a memorable one. I was here in April so the weather by the seaside was still a bit biting and chilly. Nonetheless, I enjoyed my afternoon stroll as I wait for the sunset. I was totally satisfied when the sun starts to drift from the horizon and the sky turns into a canvas painted colorfully. It was such a beautiful sunset at this side of Eastern Europe.

_14

During my overnight visit to Jurmala, I stayed at Daina Jurmala Beach Hotel & SPA. It is located in a quiet part of Melluzi, Jurmala. It is just a stone’s throw away from the shores of the Gulf of Riga. Also, the train station is a good 5-minute walk and is a 10-minute drive to the center of the city. All rooms have a cable TV, a work desk and a private bathroom with free toiletries. WiFi is available. The room I had has a balcony. Other amenities they provide include a sauna, massage rooms, and an array of sports and leisure activities. But the best part of my stay at Daina is their super sumptuous selection of food during breakfast!

_1

Jack Kornfield says that in the end, three things would matter the most: “How well we have lived, How well we have loved, and How well we have learned to let go”.

Don’t be a wasted soul, be Juanderlust. Take it easy everyJuan.

