Temple of Leah (Cebu City, PH)

Work is love made visible. And if you cannot work with love but only with distaste, it is better that you should leave your work and sit at the gate of the temple and take alms of those who work with joy. – Khalil Gibran

0
I have a soft spot for grand art pieces and architectural designs that is why I fancy of going to Italy and Greece someday… While I am still building my path towards achieving that dream, I satiate my love for such beauty by visiting places that offer amazing and eye-satiating art works.

1

One of the newest attraction drawer of the Queen City of the South (Cebu) is the Temple of Leah — a work of art that is built as a sign of undying love. It is said that the temple was the brainchild of Mr. Teodorico Adarna, the grandfather of Philippine actress Ellen Adarna and owner of Queensland motels. The temple was constructed as a symbol of his undying love for her wife, Leah Villa Albino-Adarna.

2

When it was opened to the public in February of this year (2015), the temple is still under-construction. I attempted to visit the place during my last 2 Cebu stint but my hectic schedule prevented me from doing so. My latest stay in Cebu gave me an opportunity to finally see this much talked about temple atop the mountainous side of the city, Busay.

3

Upon reaching the gates of the temple, one would immediately notice the life-size sculptures, high pillars and the Roman-styled edifice. The construction is still on-going. Nonetheless, it still is a masterpiece that truly amazed me. The stairs leading inside the temple is guarded by two golden lion statues that somehow looks like roaring sentinels. Once you enter, more intricately designed sculptures will greet you and at the center is a 9-foot bronze statue of Leah. Really a feast to the sense of sight!

4

The place also offers a stunning view of Cebu cityscape and mountainside. I promise to go back once the temple is finished and take more photos. I am not certain as to when I could set foot on a real ancient city like Rome, but my visit here at the Temple of Leah, in the meantime, made up for that yearning.

6

How to Reach Temple of Leah:

Temple of Leah is located in Roosevelt St., Brgy. Busay Cebu City.

If you are coming from Manila, take a plane ride to Cebu via Mactan International Airport. Get a cab going to JY Square Mall. From there, cheapest way is to take a motorcycle (habal-habal) which is much preferred over a taxi as the way to Busay is quite steep and meandering.

5

Don’t be a wasted soul, be ‘juan’derlust. Take it easy ebri’juan’…

 

